93 RideKC Bus Operators ‘Distinguished’ As the Best in Safety and Customer Service

Date:November 02, 2016

(Kansas City, Mo. – Nov. 2, 2016) The Kansas City Area Transportation Authority (KCATA) will honor 93 RideKC bus operators during the 32nd annual Distinguished Drivers Awards Ceremony on Thursday, Nov. 3.  

The 2016 award recipients met rigid criteria that emphasize driver safety, customer service, reliability and attendance in a 12-month period. RideKC operators are eligible for the honor if they have:

  • No avoidable accidents
  • No chargeable customer complaints
  • No written violations or suspensions
  • No missed assignments
  • No more than one late arrival to work
  • No more than eight non-vacation days off work

The Distinguished Drivers ceremony honors operators in several categories. The Meritorious Driver award will be given to three operators who have earned distinguished driver status for 15 years; the Master Driver recognition will be awarded to three operators earning five years as a distinguished driver; four operators will be given special recognition for earning distinguished driver status 20 years or more; and the remaining 83 operators earned distinguished driver status during the current program year.

2016 Meritorious Drivers

- Roger Lopez

- Kevin Redmond

- Ricky Silinzy

2016 Master Drivers

- Derrick Lewis

- Nick Miller

- Sherry Williams

Special Recognition

- Robert Crane

- Curtis Hammons

- Charles Henderson

- Richard Green