88 Metro Bus Operators ‘Distinguished’ As the Best in Safety and Customer Service

Date:October 28, 2015

(Kansas City, Mo. – Oct. 28, 2015) The Kansas City Area Transportation Authority (KCATA) will honor 88 Metro bus operators during the 31st annual Distinguished Drivers Awards Ceremony on Thursday, Oct. 29.

The 2015 award recipients met rigid criteria that emphasize driver safety, customer service, reliability and attendance in a 12-month period. Metro operators are eligible for the honor if they have:

  • No avoidable accidents
  • No chargeable customer complaints
  • No written violations or suspensions
  • No missed assignments
  • No more than one late arrival to work
  • No more than eight non-vacation days off work

The Distinguished Drivers ceremony honors operators in several categories. The Grand Master Driver award will be given to an operator who has earned distinguished driver status for 10 years; the Master Driver recognition will be awarded to five operators earning five years as a distinguished driver; the remaining 82 operators earned distinguished driver status during the current program year.

2015 Grand Master Driver

- Ray Wallace

2015 Master Drivers

- Jacqueline Elmore

- Carron Kearney

- David Lemons

- Eric Rowe

- Aaron Toney