Mayor Weir Receives Rosa Parks Spirit Award

Date:August 04, 2017
Mayor Weir Receives Rosa Parks Spirit Award

A Rosa Parks Spirit award was given to Eileen Weir, Mayor of the City of Independence, Missouri.

The RideKC Award was presented to Mayor Eileen Weir for her commitment to building a more integrated regional transit system. Mayor Weir’s leadership in supporting the regional transit RideKC brand speaks volumes about her desire to see the public transportation system work seamlessly throughout the region. She consistently steps up to support transit programs such as free rides for veterans and free transit on Election Day. All are invaluable to our united pursuit to connect people to opportunities.

“One thing I can tell you about Mayor Weir in Independence, since she’s been in office, it’s been a real collaborative approach to how she’s governed,” said KCMO Mayor Sly James. “She’s been a real proponent of the transit connectivity issues. And she’s been advocating for that in Independence.” 

About the Rosa Parks Spirit Awards

The Rosa Parks Spirit Awards celebrate individuals and organizations that, in the spirit of Civil Rights Leader Rosa Parks, are making a difference in metro Kansas City and in public transit. This marks the fifth year for the awards, whose honorees have included U.S. Congressman Emanuel Cleaver, one of KCATA’s first black bus operators Ray Harris, the University of Missouri-Kansas City, and the Downtown Council.

Mayors James, Weir and Holland with CEO Makinen and Chairman Klika
Mayor Sly James, Mayor Eileen Weir and Mayor Mark Holland announce free fares for the November 2016 election day, with KCATA CEO Robbie Makinen and Board of Commissioners Chairman Steve Klika.