Distinguished Community Leaders Receive KCATA Rosa Parks SPIRIT Award

Date:July 31, 2015

KANSAS CITY, MO — On Wednesday, August 19, 2015, the Kansas City Area Transportation Authority (KCATA) will present the 3rd annual KCATA Rosa Parks SPIRIT Awards celebrating individuals and organizations that, in the spirit of Civil Rights Leader Rosa Parks, are making a difference in metro Kansas City and in public transit.

This year’s awards will honor four difference makers at a reception beginning at 5:00 p.m. at Arvest Bank at the Midland Theater, located at 1228 Main Street in downtown Kansas City. The honors include:

The Regional Excellence Award, presented to Ed Eilert, Commission Chairman | Johnson County

The Community Partner Award, presented to Bill Dietrich, President & CEO | Downtown Council

The Business Partner Award, presented to Jonathan Kemper, Chairman | Commerce Bank

The Champion of Transit Award, presented to Shalonn “Kiki” Curls | Missouri State Senator

“Just as Rosa Parks stood tall 60 years ago to make transit accessible to everyone, the winners of the award in her name have worked to give the same opportunity to everyone in our region,” said Joe Reardon, new CEO of KCATA. “The recipients of this year’s Rosa Parks SPIRIT Award are recognized for their demonstrated contributions to public transportation, a service that affords economic opportunity to so many in the Kansas City area. We are deeply appreciative of their efforts.”

Lathrop & Gage is the presenting sponsor of the 2015 Rosa Parks SPIRIT Awards.

For ticket information, visit